Mark your calendars for our NCAA session and after reception on Thursday February 16th!


NCAA Session, February 16th, 5:30pm-7:00pm, New York Hilton Midtown, Petit Trianon Room, 3rd Floor.


Advancing the work of a unit of an individual often requires evidence beyond locally available assets such as a rational purpose, a compelling narrative, and existing financial means: sometimes it takes an ingenious and entrepreneurial approach to unlock resources and imaginations.  This session will offer examples of how research, teaching learning and/or service initiatives can be advanced through strategic and sometimes remarkably inventive entrepreneurship.

Chairs: Jim Hopfensperger, Western Michigan University; Lynne Allen, Boston University
Sally Gaskill, Strategic National Arts Alumni Project
Jen Guillemin, Boston University
Sara Meyer, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
Matt Clark, University of Texas-Arlington
Nancy Palmeri, University of Texas-Arlington

NCAA Reception, where you’ll connect, and reconnect with members, non-members welcome, February 16th, 7:00pm-9:00pm, New York Hilton Midtown, Room TBA (look out for an email Wednesday the 15th).

Oh, and it isn’t too early to start thinking about our next NCAA conference hosted by University of Arizona in Tucson AZ, September 20-23, 2017.  
Did you know we’ll be staying at a resort?  Look out for registration in late spring!



Announcing the 2016-17 New Administrator Fellows and Their Mentors


Fellow: Anne Stagg, Associate Chair, Department of Art, Florida State University 
Mentor: David LaPalombara, Director, School of Art & Design, Ohio University

Fellow: Mariah Doren, Assistant Dean of Curriculum and Learning, Parsons School of Design 
Mentor: Leslie Bellavance, President, Kendall College of Art & Design of Ferris University 

Fellow: Peter Eudenbach, Chair, Department of Art, Old Dominion University
Mentor: Cathy Pagani, Associate Dean and Assistant to the Provost, The University of Alabama

Fellow: Matthew Albritton, Department Head of Visual Arts, Northern Kentucky University 
Mentor: A. 
Blake Pearce, Dean, College of the Arts, Valdosta State University 

Fellow: Jeanette Guillemin, Director ad interim, School of Visual Arts, Boston University 
Mentor: Amy HauftLeslie Waggener Professor in Sculpture, School of Art & Art History, University of Texas at Austin 

Fellow: Troy RichardsInterim Associate Dean of the Arts, University of Delaware 
Mentor: Tom Berding, Professor of Studio Art, Michigan State University

Read more about the newest Fellows here: New Fellows!

• Waiver of 2015 conference registration and a one-year membership in NCAA;
• Being paired with a distinguished and experienced administrator/mentor at the conference;
• Submitting a brief post-conference written account of the experience to be posted at the NCAA web site;
• an opportunity to make a presentation at the 2016 NCAA Annual Conference.

Congratulations to this distinguished class of fellows--and heartfelt thanks to our mentors David, Leslie, Cathy, A. Blake, Amy, and Tom.


NCAA Board Positions: 2016/17

The Board (new members included) convened in Philadelphia on Saturday morning and elected new/continuing officers and added/reinstated committee members.

That morning's results:

Elissa Armstrong, Virginia Commonwealth University
Past President
Amy Hauft, University of Texas at Austin
Leslie Bellavance
Kendall College of Art and Design of Ferris state University
Cathy Pagani, The University of Alabama
Past Treasurer
Andrea Eis, Oakland University 

Communications Committee
Lynne Allen, Boston University
Nan Goggin, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Jeni Mokren, SUNY New Paltz

Membership Committee
A. Blake Pearce, Valdosta State University
David LaPalombara, Ohio University
Peter Chametzky, University of South Carolina 

Fellows Committee
Tom Berding, Michigan State University
Michael Fels, Elon University

Nominations Committee
Joe Poshek, Irvine Valley College
Leslie Bellavance, Kendall College of Art & Design of Ferris University 
Tom Berding, Michigan State University

Conference Committee
Lynne Allen, Boston University
David LaPalombara, Ohio University
Andrea Eis, Oakland University 


Congratulations to the Newly Elected NCAA Directors

Jeni Mokren, SUNY New Paltz

Joe Poshek, Irvine Valley College

Peter Chametzky, University of South Carolina 

Many thanks are due to the newest members of the NCAA Board of Directors. Their expertise will augment the skills brought to the table by our ongoing board members: Lynne Allen, Elissa Armstrong, Leslie Bellavance, Tom Berding, Michael Fels, Nan Goggin, (Past President) Amy Hauft, David LaPalombara, A. Blake Pearce, Joe Poshek, and Cathy Pagani. We bid a fond farewell to Steve Bliss, Cora Lynn Deibler, Andrea Eis, and Jim Hopfensperger who both served admirably! The election took place during the 44rd Annual NCAA Conference, hosted by Tyler School of Art, Temple University, Philadelphia, PA!